An Expression of Myself

Social Linking Bookmarklet

Posted on: January 17, 2007


Well my long quest on how to the Social Bookmarking on my post has been ended today because of  Social Linking « Archaeoastronomy . This site will teach how to incorporate the Social Bookmarking for your free WordPress.com Blog. It works fine for this site. So A big applause to this guy because of his skills I can now put the Social Bookmark in all my post. Archaeoastronomy post shows as follows :

Social Linking is a feature lacking from WordPress.com at the moment. I’ve had a look at Oddiophile’s Technorati Tags Bookmarklet and I think I can modify it to produce simple Social Bookmarking bookmarklet. This page is part of an experiment to see if it works.

What the thing is, is a link you can drag to your toolbar or your favourites or whatever. When you’ve finished writing a post on WordPress.com you then:

  1. Type in an entry to the post slug box. This forms part of the final URL. In this case the slug is social.
  2. Click on the bookmarklet
  3. Type in the slug at the prompt
  4. Copy the code it gives you, by pressing CTRL+C
  5. Paste it into your entry where you want the links to appear

Therefore now my post could have this cute little Icon at the bottom.. 🙂

 Update: Check for my follow up post here

Social Bookmarks:
5 Responses to "Social Linking Bookmarklet"

[…] marklets in each of your posts? Simple really, Oddiophile’s Technorati Tags Bookmarklet has been modified to produce simple Social Bookmarking bookmarklets. Here’s how you do […]

Sorry, that’s using the same bookmarklet for tags, not social bookmarking. The problem with using the bookmarklet for social bookmarking is that it needs to accommodate the exact URL and Post Title of each post you use it on. I’ll take a look at this and see how it works. Thanks, and my apologies.

Thanks Lorelle for visiting. Thanks also for the links that you have share for the Tagging Bookmarklet. Sorry Accepted. 🙂 I have also done some changes with Archaeoastronomy method you can find it here https://dexfamily.wordpress.com/2007/01/18/social-linking-hack/ and for Tagging I normally use my Authoring tool see here https://dexfamily.wordpress.com/2007/01/06/blogging-authoring-tool/

Leave a Reply

Tech At Hand Tweets

